blackvoicesofoshkosh

Where black citizens in Oshkosh get connected, inspired and mobilized.

Time for Change-Get Your Pockets Right

“If you had to pin a picture of what you ate everyday onto your clothes, you would be more mindful about your food intake. Writing down what you spend casts a light on spending and forces you to make adjustments,”

“If you had to pin a picture of what you ate everyday onto your clothes, you would be more mindful about your food intake. Writing down what you spend casts a light on spending and forces you to make adjustments.”

I enjoy both Clarke Howard and Suze Orman. Both are entertaining, and have given me some good financial nuggets over the years.

Yet, when I needed advice to turn things around with my own finances, I did not seek assistance from these famed financial gurus.

I wanted to talk to everyday people like myself. After all, “you gotta play to win” and since I don’t play lottery, my chances of walking away with the big jackpot are zilch.

I needed people who understood my plight, people with a similar world view and people who had made a dramatic change in their own finances by doing simple, everyday things over time that made a difference.

I wanted an easy-to-implement and pragmatic plan.

Thankfully, I found all of these things in my financial muses JB and Carrie Thompson.

The couple has been able to rid themselves of a significant debt—more than $50,000—in a couple of years. Today, they are close to being debt free. They did not file bankruptcy. They paid the debt by working together, applying practical principles, closely monitoring their finances and getting involved in what is for them a life-changing business.

They are regular working stiffs like you and I who were able to turn things around. I am inspired by them.

Thankfully, they have agreed to let us all in on their secrets!

Over the course of the next several weeks, we will learn more about the Thompsons, read about their journey from debt to freedom, and about the business they credit with helping them to turn things around.

Today’s tip is from JB.

JB suggests purchasing a $.89 pocket notebook from your local Dollar Store, to keep it with you at all times, and to write down every penny you spend.

“If you had to pin a picture of what you ate everyday onto your clothes, you would be more mindful about your food intake. Writing down what you spend casts a light on spending and forces you to make adjustments,” says JB.

JB goes on to say, “If you don’t know where you are spending your money, how can you make necessary changes?”

I invite you to join me on my quest to correct my financial psyche by taking advantage of the simple, proven tips from everyday people who made a big change to positively impact their personal finances.

Feel free to invite others to follow the blog. This information is too important not to share.

I would love to hear from our readers. What impactful, debt-reducing strategies have you implemented?

Sharing your tips is easy. Simply click the “Leave a Comment” balloon at the top, left-hand corner of the screen.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Time for Change-Get Your Pockets Right

  1. Leslie on said:

    Hey, this sounds like a GREAT idea. I think if I wrote down everything I spent on a daily I will find that I’m spending a lot of unnecesary money. I need to get a jar and place all that money in it until the end of the month. At that point take that unnecessary money and add it to the smallest bill. I think you pay the smallest first and then tackle the big ones. Or is it the other way around? I’m going to try this for the next six months and see how close I get to my goal of being DEBT FREE!!!!!

  2. What’s up, I read your new stuff on a regular basis. Your writing style is witty, keep up the good work!

Leave a comment